Home > Basic Principles

Basic Principles


Over the years the Council rules and procedures have been modified to meet changing conditions and the sponsorship from the employers’ side has been under various organizational titles. However, the basic principles have not been materially altered from the original resolution adopted in 1920.

The name of this body, created April 30, 1920, by the joint action of the National Electrical Contractors Association and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (hereinafter called the Member Organizations) shall be The Council on Industrial Relations for the Electrical Contracting Industry hereinafter referred to as the Council, or CIR.
It is the primary purpose of the two Member Organizations to remove the causes of friction and dispute in the Electrical Contracting Industry. Therefore, a principal function of the Council shall be that of study and research to the end that it may act with the fullest knowledge of these causes, and that it may secure the largest possible measure of genuine cooperation between the Member Organizations, and generally between management and labor of the development of the industry as a servant to the public, and for the improvement of the economic and social conditions of all engaged in the industry.
The Council earnestly urges upon the Member Organizations, and each constituent body of them, that reasonableness, patience, goodwill and a serious endeavor to see the merits and justice of claims put forward by the other party, which in this case as well as in all other efforts of man to substitute harmony for strife, are an indispensable foundation for cooperative effort without which the Council cannot achieve success in its purpose.
The Council shall be composed of one or more panels consisting of six representatives appointed by each of the Member Organizations, on each panel to serve for such term as each organization may decide. Each Member Organization may also designate alternate members who may attend executive sessions of the Council but shall not have a voice or vote unless serving for a regular member. When not serving for a regular member, alternate members will function as the Council’s sergeants-at-arms and will perform such other duties as the Co-Chairman may direct. Vacancies from any cause shall be filled by the respective organization in whose representation the vacancy exists.
Representatives shall serve without compensation from the Council.
Either Member Organization may withdraw its representatives from the Council on three months written notice to the other Member Organization.
Regular meetings of the Council shall be held quarterly in the months of February, May, August and November. The time and place for the meeting will be announced by the Executive Committee. However, the Executive Committee shall have authority to change the time and place of the meetings when circumstances warrant. Special meetings may be called by the Co-Chairmen and shall be called on written request of the Co-Chairmen by three members. All meetings of the Council shall be open to the public, but the Council reserves to itself the right to go into executive session at any time, if in its judgment matters before it for consideration may be better handled, or more expeditiously handled, in executive session. After all written and oral evidence in a case is presented, and the case pronounced closed by the Co-Chairman who is presiding, further consideration shall be given and a decision reached by unanimous vote of the Council sitting in executive session; and this procedure shall apply to all matters not covered by these rules or previously established policy.
A quorum shall consist of four of the representatives of each Member Organization. The representatives of each Member Organization present at any meeting shall have the right to cast the votes of their absent representatives; and in the absence of a quorum shall appoint one alternate to take the place of an absent representative.
Each Member Organization shall annually select the person who is to serve as its Co-Chairman on the CIR. Each Co-Chairman shall have the right to appoint an alternate to act for him at any meeting of the Council or its Executive Committee. The Council shall appoint a Treasurer and a Secretary. All officers shall serve one year, or until their successors are selected. An officer may succeed himself.
The Executive Committee of the Council shall be composed of the two Co-Chairmen, the Secretary and the Treasurer, with each Co-Chairman being privileged to appoint an alternate to act for him. This Executive Committee shall have authority to act on all matters which may require attention between meetings of the Council.
The Council may appoint such committees from time to time as may be considered advantageous (by the Council) in promoting its purposes. The Council may delegate special powers to any committee it appoints. The Council may appoint all members to a committee, or may allow a committee Chairman to select persons of special ability and knowledge to serve in a consulting capacity, who are not members of the Council. The Chairman of each such Committee shall be a member of the Council. All such committees shall report their findings and recommendations to the Council, or to its Secretary, as instructed.
All officers shall serve without compensation. The Council may rent a suitable office and purchase, or otherwise acquire, appropriate equipment for it; and it may hire such persons as may be needed to perform the office work incident to the operation of the Council. The expenses incurred by the Council shall be borne equally by the Member Organizations.
No decision shall be rendered by the Council except in writing and only then by due authorization of the Council or its Executive Committee at the conclusion of any meeting.
No agreement of any kind shall be made by any member of the Council tending in any way to sway the judgment of the Council in reaching a decision when sitting as a tribunal.
Requests for interpretation of the Council’s decisions, policies and rules shall be answered in writing by the Secretary, with the approval of the Executive Committee, and signed by the Secretary and Treasurer of the Council.
Any exception to the foregoing rules must be authorized by the Council on Industrial Relations or its Executive Committee acting in behalf thereof.



Council on Industrial Relations, Office of the Secretary
900 Seventh Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20001
202-728-6165 Fax: 202-728-6168 Email
© Copyright 2008 CIR. CIR is a registered trademark. All rights reserved. CIR is co-sponsored by the IBEW and NECA.